≡ Menu

Cetaphil Review And $100 Visa Giftcard Giveaway


I continue to be amazed by how much my skin changes with hormonal fluctuations, seasons and weather, my stress level, age…you name it. Over the past few years I have struggled with acne, redness and dry, flakey skin. It seems like I’m in a constant struggle to find a skin care regimen that works for me. One product that I have been able to rely on over the years is Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser. My dermatologist recommended it when I was in high school and I have used it intermittently ever since. It’s always my go-to facial cleanser when my skin is especially dry and inflamed, which typically tends to happen during the winter.

What I love most about this cleanser is that it removes makeup and build-up from the day while leaving my skin soft and hydrated. It doesn’t strip my face of moisture like many cleansers do, and I never get that tight skin feeling after using it. It’s fragrance-free, non-irritating and almost feels lotion-like when you’re using it.

Recently, I had the opportunity to review not only the Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser that I know and love but also the Cetaphil Moisturizing Cream. I am now a believer in that product as well and have slathered it on from head to toe every single day since purchasing it and insisted that friends and co-workers try it as well. Sometimes I feel like no matter how much moisturizer I apply, my skin never gets enough moisture during the cold weather months. The Cetaphil Moisturizing Cream takes care of this even in the driest spots like my hands and legs.

This moisturizer is also fragrance-free and formulated for sensitive skin. It can help alleviate symptoms of dry skin associated with eczema-prone and psoriasis-prone skin. I have a tendency to develop redness and flakiness in my chin area and I find that this moisturizer is gentle enough to give me all the hydration I need without further irritating my skin.

For some reason it seems a little counter-intuitive to use the same moisturizer on my face that I use on my whole body, but this moisturizer has been perfect both for my face and body. I feel like it has helped give my skin a more even appearance and my makeup goes on great over it.

I know that skin care is a very personal thing and needs vary greatly, but I truly think these two products would be beneficial for most any skin type and any skin struggles. Cetaphil products are recommended by more dermatologists than any other brand and are even the #1 recommended brand by pediatricians as well, so the whole family can use them.

Cetaphil brand is offering a coupon for $3 off any two products as well as a giveaway for a chance to win a $100 Visa giftcard. Click here to save up to $3.

To enter the giveaway, leave a comment below telling me about your winter skin care strategy. How do your skin care needs change? And how do you deal?

Rules:
No duplicate comments.
You may receive (2) total entries by selecting from the following entry methods:
a) Leave a comment in response to the sweepstakes prompt on this post.
b) Tweet (public message) about this promotion, including exactly the
following unique term in your tweet message: #SweepstakesEntry and leave the URL to that tweet in a comment on this post.
c) Blog about this promotion, including a disclosure that you are receiving a sweepstakes entry in exchange for writing the blog post, and leave the URL to that post in a comment on this post.
d) For those with no Twitter or blog, read the official rules to learn about an alternate form of entry.

This giveaway is open to US Residents age 18 or older. Winners will be selected via random draw, and will be notified by e-mail. You have 72 hours to respond, otherwise a new winner will be selected. The Official Rules are available here. This sweepstakes runs from 12/11/12 – 1/7/13. Be sure to visit the Cetaphil brand page on BlogHer.com where you can read other bloggers’ reviews and find more chances to win!

Comments on this entry are closed.

  • 1
    Cindy December 12, 2012, 7:05 pm

    My favorite cleanser and moisturizer is by biotherm. My face literally just swallows the cream as soon as I put it on! I hate cleansers that make my skin dry or feel like I’m wearing a tight mask on. I had used cetaphil when I was younger, would love to try it again

  • 2
    jennyv December 12, 2012, 7:14 pm

    I’m such a simple person when it comes to skincare — wash my face w/ water (really!) and use coconut oil!

  • 3
    krista December 12, 2012, 7:16 pm

    my skin is super dry in the winter…recently I have been using body oil in the shower – it works great and then i don’t even have to apply when i get out! and cetaphil cleanser is my favorite!

  • 4
    Kelly D December 12, 2012, 7:17 pm

    My skin gets really dry in the winter, I deal with it by moisturizing daily with an SPF lotion & using a humidifier in my room.

    • 5
      Lori December 12, 2012, 7:24 pm

      I moisturize a lot more in the winter. I also use my humidifier every night.

  • 6
    Kelly D December 12, 2012, 7:18 pm
  • 7
    Katie December 12, 2012, 7:19 pm

    I definitely moisturize a lot more. Big fan of Kiehl’s and Cetaphil as well.

  • 8
    tiffany December 12, 2012, 7:19 pm

    luckily, the weather doesn’t vary too much where i live, but my face does still tend to dry out. i just use cheap, generic products, though!

  • 9
    Jillian December 12, 2012, 7:24 pm

    My skin gets dry in the winter but I still don’t like heavy creams. I have found Clinique’s moisture surge to be the perfect light intense moisturizer.

  • 10
    elizabeth December 12, 2012, 7:33 pm

    I love Cetaphil cream, I buy big tubs at Costco. I didn’t think of using it on my face, I’ll do that and stop buying face cream once I run out.

  • 11
    elizabeth December 12, 2012, 7:35 pm

    p.s. I love your yoga holiday picture with the colored lights, on the left!

  • 12
    Mami2jcn December 12, 2012, 7:42 pm

    My skin gets a lot drier, so I have to moisturize more often. I moisturize after I shower and before bed.

  • 13
    Julia December 12, 2012, 7:43 pm

    to wash my face, i use aveeno. for makeup remover, baby oil works so well on sensitive skin, way better then the expensive “sensitive skin” makeup removers! and my go-to moisturizer is the classic Ponds.

  • 14
    Mami2jcn December 12, 2012, 7:43 pm

    tweet–https://twitter.com/mami2jcn/status/279023422091177985

  • 15
    AlaskanAlison December 12, 2012, 7:47 pm

    The climate I live in doesn’t change much through the seasons. It’s pretty much always cold and rainy. That’s good news for my skin though because it means my skin care routine doesn’t change at all!

  • 16
    Holly December 12, 2012, 7:49 pm

    I have started using a moisturizer daily and it has improved my skin dramatically!

  • 17
    Lauren S December 12, 2012, 7:52 pm

    I love in the Midwest so my skin care changes with tr seasons. My skin needs a strong, thick moisturizer in the winter and a lighter moisturizer in the summer.

  • 18
    Sherie December 12, 2012, 7:55 pm

    My skin is SO dry year ’round. I use cetaphil every single day and have since high school.

  • 19
    Jordan F December 12, 2012, 7:57 pm

    My skin gets really dry during the winter and definitely needs more attention!

  • 20
    Maureen December 12, 2012, 8:00 pm

    I make sure that there is a humidifier going in my home to keep moisture in the air.
    I also wear moisturizer on my face before putting any sort of make-up on.

  • 21
    anon December 12, 2012, 8:02 pm

    Your blog used to be something I enjoyed reading (and have read for years)- but now so often you have sponsored posts with biased paid views on products.
    This is disappointing.

    • 22
      Lizz December 12, 2012, 9:13 pm

      I disagree; Jen rarely does giveaways and when she does, I think they are products she really believes in and wants to simply share the products that she loves with her followers. what’s disappointing about that? i love a good giveaway, especially one from a trusted blogger who can vouch for a good product when we have millions to choose from.

      • 23
        Jen December 12, 2012, 9:25 pm

        thanks for your input. i try to space out reviews/giveaways. you’ll notice that at the end of my last post i warned that i would be posting another giveaway and that i don’t typically like to do them this close together. the oral-b review was supposed to publish last month but due to circumstances beyond my control, was pushed back and resulted in having review posts two weeks in a row.

        i only participate in reviews/giveaways for products that i personally use and recommend to others. also, i try to make sure that whatever i am giving away is good for my readers.

        i have spent most of this year trying to figure out how to focus my blog. i know that i can never make everyone happy but i have tried really hard to make this a more “real” space and not just “this is what i ate, this is how i exercised.”

        please feel free to email me if you’d like to discuss further. again, thanks for taking the time to share your concern.

    • 24
      krizza December 29, 2012, 11:54 am

      Nothing wrong with A-M-A-Z-I-N-G give away! Helps both parties. The winner, the blogger, the company/sponsor and readers. Everyone is getting benefit besides this is a product she really use and she wants to recommend to anyone who want to try this trusted product Cetaphil. This is not a disappointing blog. Thank you Jen for hosting this giveaway and i enjoy your blog by the way! :)

  • 25
    mikella December 12, 2012, 8:04 pm

    In the winter, my skin dries up so much that it is uncomfortable. Do combat this, I require extra moisture. Firstly, I use Jergens or Vaseline brand lotion on my body and the Clean and Clear oil free formula on my face. I moisturize both in the summer as well, but in the winter I sometimes require doing it more than normal. Especially my hands, I probably put lotion on my hands 6 times a day.

  • 26
    Tessa December 12, 2012, 8:09 pm

    I’ve struggled with skin issues since I was in high school. One thing that has helped me in the winter is to moisturize! And I love using Cetaphil on my face for the same reasons, it gets rid of the dirt and makeup but it doesn’t strip everything away. and lets my skin feel soft.

  • 27
    Rebecca December 12, 2012, 8:12 pm

    I always use Neutrogena’s Norwegian Formula (fragrance free) hand cream in the winter. It always makes my hands so smooth and soft!

  • 28
    Erin December 12, 2012, 8:21 pm

    I use cetaphil cleanser as well!! I also intermittently do oil cleansing which has really helped the dryness!

  • 29
    Kelly December 12, 2012, 8:23 pm

    Because my skin gets drier, I switch from a using a Clinique’s gel moisturizer to their cream moisturizer on my face.

  • 30
    Lesley December 12, 2012, 8:24 pm

    Since I live in Florida, I don’t have to deal with a lot of the typical winter skin problems. I stick with the basics-moisturizer with SPF and chap stick!

  • 31
    Michelle December 12, 2012, 8:29 pm

    I have dry skin, so I use heavier moisturizer during the winter months.

  • 32
    Abby December 12, 2012, 8:31 pm

    My skin definitely gets more dry, and I struggle to find a moisturizer that works for my whole body. I’ve been using the Cetaphil cleanser lately, and my skin looks amazing! Will have to try the moisturizer too.

  • 33
    mary December 12, 2012, 8:32 pm

    I use clinique dramatically different lotion everyday and wash my face with clean &clear

  • 34
    Ashley December 12, 2012, 8:42 pm

    This is my favorite cleanser as well. I use it first thing in the morning with my clarasonic and again at the end of the day before bed.

  • 35
    Kimberly December 12, 2012, 8:43 pm

    I’m thinking of breaking back out my cetaphil after reading this post! My skin has been especially dry these last few weeks!

  • 36
    Jessica December 12, 2012, 8:47 pm

    I love Cetaphil products! I currently only use the moisturizer but it is AMAZING. I used to live in Minnesota and the cold, harsh, dry winters were terrible for my skin (especially my face). I notice that when I switch to some other product and come back to Cetaphil, my skin always seems to calm down (why I switch? not totally sure!). I also always use Aquaphor as my chapstick and for the times when I have really dry, cracked skin (I’m looking at you knuckles).

  • 37
    Kathleen December 12, 2012, 8:48 pm

    I use Cetaphil as well! My skin (body and face) gets super dry in the winter, esp. when I’m active outside.

  • 38
    Megan December 12, 2012, 8:50 pm

    Green smoothies always make my skin look better. I’ve always used whatever facial cleanser was on sale, so these coupons will be great. Thanks!

  • 39
    Ashley December 12, 2012, 9:02 pm

    I am always on the look out for new face products. I have breakouts constantly, but I really like Aveeno Positively Radiant to wash with, always makes my skin so so soft. I use Cetaphil as a moisturizer and I really like how non-greasy it makes my skin feel!

  • 40
    Christie December 12, 2012, 9:12 pm

    My skin tends to be all over the place as well, with definite changes seasonally and hormonally. Neutrogena oil free acne cleanser has been my go to for keeping my skin clear lately, which worked well for me during my first pregnancy, too. Despite having a go to cleanser, I am desperately in need of finding a lotion or cream that can keep my skin moisturized. It’s been crazy dry lately as the weather gets colder.

  • 41
    Christie December 12, 2012, 9:13 pm
  • 42
    Natalie December 12, 2012, 9:20 pm

    I have very dry skin and use bio therm. I would love to try cetaphil.

  • 43
    Ericka spivey December 12, 2012, 9:32 pm

    Myself and my 2 children have very dry skin and always use cetaphil.
    It is expensive but worth it

  • 44
    Courtney December 12, 2012, 9:33 pm

    In the winter I typically just use the ‘night’ version of my face cream since it is thicker. During the summer I use the ‘day’ version. :)

  • 45
    Rachael H. December 12, 2012, 9:38 pm

    hi! my skin gets [SO] dry in the winter, so i usually use a lot of loreal moisturizer for my face. I have trouble with my body though (legs & elbows) so I will have to try cetaphil!

    thanks for the chance!

    rlahardison at gmail dot com

  • 46
    Rachael H. December 12, 2012, 9:40 pm
  • 47
    Suzanne December 12, 2012, 9:42 pm

    Moisturize, moisturize, moisturize!

  • 48
    Cindy December 12, 2012, 9:42 pm

    I am still searching for the perfect cleanser and moisturizer. My skin is dry in places oily in places and still breaks out. I have never tried Cetaphil but would sure love to. This may finally be the answer to my problem skin!

  • 49
    Stephanie December 12, 2012, 9:43 pm

    My skin tends to get so dry during the winter. I make sure to sleep with my humidifier on to balance out the artificial heat in my house. Another thing I have recently started doing- I always moisturize with SPF 15 lotion. It keeps my skin from getting red and irritated, since I rarely apply sunblock when the weather is cold!

  • 50
    Caroline December 12, 2012, 9:44 pm

    I usually have to use some sort of moisturizer…still tying to find the one I like!

  • 51
    Laura December 12, 2012, 9:47 pm

    Does it really take off your eye make up? I feel like it doesn’t so I tend to stick with one that does. I just don’t have the patience for two facial cleansers. In the winter I pretty much use the same products I use in the summer, however I’ll use a little more moisturizer if I get dry from all the heaters. Thanks for the review, I’ll have to give this a try again with the coupons!

  • 52
    Blair December 12, 2012, 9:52 pm

    I LOVE Cetaphil products! In fact the face wash and moisturizer are all I will use on my skin at this point. I use the moisturizer year round because of the SPF. I went to get new makeup earlier this year, and the woman commented to me that she could tell I used daily SPF because my face was lighter than my body. Ha I was so proud my efforts were paying off! (Guess I need to up the daily body SPF though…)

  • 53
    Amy December 12, 2012, 9:52 pm

    I used first-aid brand from sephora even on my face in my driest spots. My rosacea gets pretty terrible during the winter so I have to be careful about what I use to cleanse so I don’t dry out my skin more.

  • 54
    Sarah B. December 12, 2012, 9:54 pm

    I also have a huge tendency to get redness and flaky skin on my chin and I’ve been looking for a solution for this for so long! I’ve tried many different moisturizers and face washes but nothing seems to work 100%. I would love to give Cetaphil a try!

  • 55
    Natalie Pyle December 12, 2012, 10:01 pm

    In the winter, my skin is always SO dry. I make sure I always have lotion on hand (without oil). Other than that, my routine stays relatively the same.

  • 56
    Katherine December 12, 2012, 10:02 pm

    What does the lotion smell like?

    http://therealfoodrunner.blogspot.com/

  • 57
    Katie December 12, 2012, 10:08 pm

    My lips get so chapped in the winter, I have to use my Chapstick w/moisturizer constantly! I’ve also added coconut oil to my morning routine- slathered all over my hands and legs. It smells like heaven and makes my skin feel silky smooth and hydrated!

  • 58
    Michelle December 12, 2012, 10:12 pm

    My skin gets very dry, especially now that I live in Colorado. I’m still searching for the perfect moisturizer that will give me extra moisture without being too heavy. Maybe this is it!

  • 59
    kaila@ healthy helper blog! December 12, 2012, 10:14 pm

    I make sure to moisturize everyday during the winter months! My skin gets extra dry in the cold weather!

  • 60