≡ Menu

Olay Professional Pro-X Clear Line Review {Giveaway}

A few months ago I wrote a post about my struggles with acne as an adult. I was blown away by the response that I received so I wanted to give you an update on how things are going.

Here is some background for newer readers. In late 2010 I began to experience breakouts on my face. I have always had the occasional spot here and there but this has been constant for nine months. I honestly can’t remember the last time that my skin was 100% clear. Backing up even more, I’ve never had problems with my skin to this extent, even during my teenage years, so this has been frustrating to say the least.

I would say that 90% of the breakouts occur along my chin, jawline and around my mouth so it leads me to think that my acne is hormonal. I also believe that stress is playing a role and I am the first to admit that I could stand to slow down a little and get more sleep.

As much as I try to ignore it and not let it get me down, my skin issues do cause me to feel self-conscious. In the past I would regularly go without makeup but now I don’t leave the house without concealer. Also, I used to see a dermatologist regularly but unfortunately that is just not in my budget at the present time.

Recently, I was presented with the opportunity to participate in a program to test the Olay Professional Pro-X Clear Line. It’s a three-step skin care solution for controlling acne in adult skin. Given my roller coaster ride with my face over the past months, I was more than willing to give it a try.

The thing that appeals to me most about Olay Professional Pro-X Clear Line is that it is a complete system. It includes Olay Professional Pro-X Clear Pore Clarifying Cleanser, Olay Professional Pro-X Clear Skin Clearing Treatment, and Olay Professional Pro-X Clear Complexion Renewing Lotion. Before using this product, I was just using a face wash and a spot treatment. And while the spot treatment was helpful in battling the breakout I had at the moment, it didn’t stop another one from popping up in a different location on my face.

For the past two weeks I have been washing my face with the cleanser and applying the skin clearing treatment and moisturizer twice a day. Each of the products is non-comedogenic and oil-free and I found that they didn’t leave my skin feeling heavy or sticky. I was able to evenly apply makeup over the skin clearing treatment and moisturizer.

The cleanser and skin clearing treatment both feature salicylic acid as the primary acne-fighting ingredient. In the past I found that benzoyl peroxide-based treatments were more effective for me but as I have gotten older my skin seems to tolerate salicylic acid products better. I experience less flaking and dryness with the salicylic acid.

And now my thoughts on the actual product line. I have only been using Olay Professional Pro-X Clear Line for two weeks and would like to give it closer to four to six to really see results but my initial assessment is that it is helping. Although my skin is not clear, my breakouts have been less severe and shorter in duration. Also, my skin tone appears to be a little more even with less redness.

And while we’re on the subject of taking care of your skin, you might want to check out this post by Roxanna Sarmiento in the Life Well Lived section of BlogHer.com. She has some great tips for developing habits that will help your skin looks its best.

According to the American Academy of Dermatology, over half of the women in the US between the ages of 25 and 58 suffer from some form of acne. Although I do not wish my struggles on any other woman, it is somewhat comforting to know that I am not alone in this. Given the feedback I have received from you and the staggering statistics of the number of women affected, I think this is a topic that I will continue to address.

How do you tackle the self-confidence aspect of dealing with acne as an adult? I would love to hear how you approach it from an emotional aspect and not just physically.

Leave a comment to be entered to win a $50 gift certificate to drugstore.com provided by BlogHer and the Olay Professional Pro-X Clear Line.

Just a few rules:
– No duplicate comments.
– You may receive (2) total entries by selecting from the following entry methods:
a) Leave a comment in response to the sweepstakes prompt on this post
b) Tweet about this promotion and leave the URL to that tweet in a comment on this post
c) Blog about this promotion and leave the URL to that post in a comment on this post
d) For those with no Twitter or blog, read the official rules to learn about an alternate form of entry.
– This giveaway is open to US residents age 18 or older. Official rules here. Contest runs from October 3-November 3, 2011.
– Check out the BlogHer Promotions & Prizes page for reviews, giveaways and more!

{ 124 comments… add one }
  • 1
    Stephanie October 3, 2011, 1:11 pm

    I guess I’m lucky in that my breakouts are either really random or seem to be related to hormone swings throughout the month. However, I wouldn’t necessarily say I have good skin. It tends to be oily (except where it’s dry) and it’s just not as smooth as I’d like it to be.

    I’d love to try this Olay system.

  • 2
    Margaret October 3, 2011, 1:14 pm

    Using a Moisturizer helps me, I like Oil of Olay Regenerist in the red and black packaging. But stress is the worst cause of the big ones, but i guess it happens to all of us.

  • 3
    Heather C October 3, 2011, 1:16 pm

    My skin is horrendous too, why is it worse at 24 than at 16?!

  • 4
    Katie October 3, 2011, 1:17 pm

    I’ve been struggling with acne since the age of 12. I’d love to finally find the solution!

  • 5
    becca October 3, 2011, 1:23 pm

    I’m having similar issues to you – its so frustrating dealing with acne in your mid 20s!

  • 6
    Carrie T October 3, 2011, 1:26 pm

    my skin has been going bananas lately, so I may just have to give this a try. I’m so happy to hear your transition into the fitness world is going smoothly!

    and while I’m writing…Grant and I got back from our FitProTravel vacation a couple of weeks ago. I definitely recommend looking into a trip with Brandon!

  • 7
    Susan October 3, 2011, 1:26 pm

    do you wash your face after every workout?? i started breaking out like crazy after i up’ed my gym sessions. it makes a huge difference. i bough these wipes from Target by “say yes to carrots” and they work great when you’re on the go. 🙂

  • 8
    bethp262 October 3, 2011, 1:32 pm

    I’d been thinking about trying this line. I have the same story as you: have jawline breakouts as an adult when I never did when I was a teenager. thanks for the review!

  • 9
    Lindsey October 3, 2011, 1:42 pm

    I have the same problem. I turned 27 and everything changed. I have never dealt with breakouts and I got incredibly frustrated. I have been trying everything. The last time I was in Sephora, I asked one of the employees for some advice as to what make-up to buy. She was actually having the same problem. She recommended Dior Nude Skin liquid make-up. It’s a little pricey but I’m happy with the results. It covers well and it actually contains some of their moisturizer so my skin is looking really healthy. I’m still trying to find a great face wash system though. I really like other Olay products so maybe this is worth a shot. Thanks for the review!

  • 10
    Karen October 3, 2011, 1:43 pm

    I had terrible acne as a teenager, so in comparison, my adult acne seems like nothing. I use proactiv, which controls it fairly well, and Bare Minerals make-up to hide the pimples I do have.

  • 11
    Chelsea October 3, 2011, 1:45 pm

    I never leave the house without my pizza face! I deal with it by making jokes about it. Whenever someone asks me what i’m wearing to a party or something I’ll say I’m wearing my new juicy couture dress, heels, and an extra layer of zit cream! If you can’t help it, you might as well laugh it off. I find I’m much more aware of it than anyone else and my most recent goal is not to let it get to me.

  • 12
    anna October 3, 2011, 1:45 pm

    I had horrible breakouts in high school/early college, but with help from my dermatologist (and some meds) — it eventually calmed down. Now, I get only the monthly breakout, but I do try and wash my face every night w/ Noxema and moisturize with a mixture of bio-oil and unscented lotion. Random, but it works for me?

  • 13
    Kate October 3, 2011, 2:07 pm

    I’ve never been one to get bad breakouts, but the past year or so has been bad…maybe because i competitively swam (which dried up my skin and kept it from breaking out) for most of my life & recently do much more running & yoga? I keep experimenting with new product as well, trying to find a routine that works.

  • 14
    Mami2jcn October 3, 2011, 2:10 pm

    I don’t have adult acne, but I do use a lot of concealer to hide my dark under-eye circles.

  • 15
    Tiff @ Love Sweat and Beers October 3, 2011, 2:12 pm

    I suffer from adult acne too. After 2 rounds of Accutaine (sp?), I know how frustrating it can be!

    Cool giveaway. I’d love to give this stuff a shot.

  • 16
    stephanie October 3, 2011, 2:13 pm

    I am currently battling adult acne and I hate it. I try everything but nothing seems to work!! My husband thinks its related to how often I run and work out.
    I am willing to try just about anthing at this point, but I refuse to blame it on exercise!! 🙂

  • 17
    Caitlin October 3, 2011, 2:14 pm

    I would love to enter the giveaway!

  • 18
    Caitlin October 3, 2011, 2:17 pm

    I’m lame and can’t figure out how to link to my specific Tweet but I mentioned you on it and the giveaway! http://twitter.com/CaitPlusAte

  • 19
    Natalie October 3, 2011, 2:34 pm

    I swam in college and never had breakouts. When I graduated, I picked up running, and I have had bad acne since. I sometimes believe it is associated with sweat. I am unsure. However, I would love to be entered in the giveaway!

  • 20
    Alaina October 3, 2011, 2:36 pm

    I used to have such bad skin, but it has gotten better with a system that I found at the Body Shop. But I still get breakouts, bumps, and red marks. I would love to find something that would clear me up!

  • 21
    Debra October 3, 2011, 2:54 pm

    When I became pregnant, my skin got way worse. I deal with cysts on my skin, which are the hard, red, BIG bumps that just last forever. I had some on my neck that just would not go away. I don’t like to apply foundation/concealer, but I’ve had to more and more because of the self-confidence. Really, that’s my only trick; not to mess with them and to cover up as best as I can. I try not to mess with them in general, but especially in public; my thought is, if I act like it doesn’t bother me, maybe no one will notice. I should keep dreaming, but it’s worth a shot 😉

  • 22
    Julia October 3, 2011, 2:54 pm

    Hi Jen! I have been following your blog for sometime now. You and I seem to have similar excercise passions (my first marathon is sunday!)and takes on the day day activities!This may be an old wives tale but I SWEAR it works! I have had acne since I was 12, ughh so I have had old acne scars, new pimples etc on my face for forever (I am 25). I happen to have a friend who works in a retirement home and one of the older ladies there has PRISTINE skin, my friend asked her how or what she did to acquire such lovely wrinkle free skin and she said she had been putting vitamin E oil on her face since her teens. Since hearing that I have been buying straight vitamin E oil and putting some on my palm every night and rubbing it on my face. Its fairly oily but it seeps in overnight and you wake up with babysoft skin! I have been doing this for 7months now and while it does not necessarily prevent acne, it keeps your face soooo soft and smooth as well as tones my face better then any toner I have ever had. It has erased old scars as well and I have received more compliments on my skin then I can remember. Again, it may or may not be an old wives tale but I would suggest to anyone to at least try this method for a few months (certainly cant hurt)and see what happens its literally the best discovery beauty routine I have made 🙂

  • 23
    Karina October 3, 2011, 3:00 pm

    i just keep washing my face morning and night

  • 24
    Jacqueline @SmartSolitude.com October 3, 2011, 3:07 pm

    I cut out dairy and feel much better about my skin!

  • 25
    lauren October 3, 2011, 3:13 pm

    the past year has been horrible for me as well. I tried different medications/topical treatments from the dermatologist, but none seem to work very well. I find washing my face after workouts and changing my pillowcases regularly help me – but I still find it must be crazy hormones in my late-20’s that’s giving me pre-teen/teen acne!

  • 26
    Becca B October 3, 2011, 3:16 pm

    I am battling that right now, and the weirdest part is I never used to have issues. Ugh!

  • 27
    Jessica October 3, 2011, 3:31 pm

    I hate that we deal with this in our 20s/30s…would love to try the system!

  • 28
    Meredith October 3, 2011, 3:49 pm

    Jen, I am having the same problems too! So frustrating! I am breaking out worse than I did when I was in high school, and mine are in the same zones that you talked about – my jaw line and chin. I have been to the dermatologist and have been on an oral medication, plus a topical cream, but nothing seems to help. I have even tried the all natural route to not use any harsh treatments, but that hasn’t helped either. Keep me posted on how this line works for you, because at this point I am willing to try anything!

  • 29
    Alex October 3, 2011, 4:00 pm

    A key really is washing your face at night! Oh and moisturizing, even when you have oily skin.

  • 30
    Elana October 3, 2011, 4:00 pm

    I would love to try this! I also continue to struggle with breakouts in my mid/upper 20s and am ready to have clear skin!!

  • 31
    Nicole October 3, 2011, 4:02 pm

    Jen, I have been having troubles like this with my skin recently in the same area you mentioned. I might need to try this olay, it might be just what I need! Thanks for the advice

  • 32
    Lisa S. October 3, 2011, 4:10 pm

    As much as I hate you guys are all going through this, it is comforting to know I am not alone! At 32 I am having more break outs than I ever have before and would love an affordable solution.

  • 33
    natalie (the sweets life) October 3, 2011, 4:35 pm

    I don’t have terrible adult acne but it does pop up from time to time. I try to keep a good perspective and remember that MANY women deal with this..it’s just frustrating when you’re so desperately trying to hide and ignore it!

  • 34
    Lindsay October 3, 2011, 4:42 pm

    I’m 23 years old, and I’m just now dealing with my skin. It stayed clear through all of high school and college, but now it decides to act up! I’m ready to find a product that works and helps me feel better about the way I look. Hopefull Olay is the answer!

  • 35
    Holly @ Pink Runner October 3, 2011, 4:42 pm

    I never break out anymore and I’ve been using Proactive for the past 5 years or so and it is fantastic for me. I also think cutting dairy out of your diet makes a huge difference.

  • 36
    Aubrey October 3, 2011, 4:50 pm

    Wash my face every night & use a moisturizer
    littlegray88 at yahoo dot com

  • 37
    Katheryn October 3, 2011, 6:18 pm

    I started having skin issues when I turned 11. I’m now 30 and still have acne. Such a pain to still be dealing with this!

  • 38
    Meghan N October 3, 2011, 6:38 pm

    Luckily I only have the occasional breakout during that time of month. I do LOVE my clarisonic though!

  • 39
    Shayla @ The Good Life October 3, 2011, 7:03 pm

    I would looove to try this Olay System! I’ve battled horrible acne throughout my teenage years and it would get really bad along my chin area. At 29 I’m still battling it but it’s not as bad as it was in the past…although it still bothers me! Like you, I use spot treatment for those that are there but it doesn’t stop from others popping up in other places. I’m happy to hear you’re noticing progress with this treatment so if I don’t win this giveaway I’m definitely going out and buying this! 🙂

  • 40
    Lily October 3, 2011, 7:14 pm

    I use face wash and spot treatment and would love win this giveaway. I try to focus on the things I love about my face like my eyes and my smile when I get down on myself about my acne.

  • 41
    Christine October 3, 2011, 7:29 pm

    I, too, struggle with adult acne. It’s certainly no fun… I would be willing to give this Olay system a try.

  • 42
    Sara October 3, 2011, 7:33 pm

    I’m lucky and only have acne once a month, for a couple days, and it disappears. I’d love to try this product line!

  • 43
    Danielle October 3, 2011, 8:36 pm

    I’d like to enter for the giveaway!

  • 44
    Jessica October 3, 2011, 8:53 pm

    I’m in my early 30s and have mild acne. Knowing that lots of adults also struggle with it makes it easier to deal with. I’d love to try this product!

  • 45
    Jessica October 3, 2011, 8:56 pm

    I have acne around my chin too. I thought it was because I rest my hand on my chin at work, but maybe it is hormonal.

  • 46
    Jess October 3, 2011, 9:04 pm

    I get occasional acne as an adult, but it doesn’t bother me that much because I always remember how much worse it was when I was a teenager!

  • 47
    Allie October 3, 2011, 9:30 pm

    I love your blog- such an inspiration! I struggled with acne around my chin/jaw, too for several years and could never figure out what was wrong… until I read an article detailing the symptoms of a toothpaste allergy- acne like bumps around your mouth! The article suggested switching to an all natural toothpaste, so I switched to Tom’s and the bumps cleared up almost instantly. Who even knew you could have a toothpaste allergy??

  • 48
    Buffaloyogi October 3, 2011, 9:50 pm

    Same problem! I turned 25 and my skin went nuts (29 now). I never had any prior skin issues! It is a must to wash your face after a hot yoga practice. I keep a package of burts bees wet face wipes in my car. It helps but not entirely. Would love to try this product!

  • 49
    Maddie October 3, 2011, 9:59 pm

    With all my hot yoga practicing (and stress and hormones too i guess… :/ bummer), I’d love to try the Olay products!!

  • 50
    megmarie October 3, 2011, 10:00 pm

    When I saw your post on this topic a few months back, I was so relieved to see I wasn’t the only person dealing with this issue. As you say, I try not to let my breakouts bother me – but it makes me feel incredibly self-conscious. I work a at a large, global company with many people who are much older than me. It’s already challenging enough to prove myself because of my age without having to worry about looking like a teenager with horrendous breakouts. I’ve tried so many systems and skincare routines, but nothing has really worked. From your review, it sounds like this might be a winner so I’d love to give it a try.

    When I do want to give myself a confidence boost during a breakout, I’ll try to play up features on my face that I really like – such as my eyes. I tell myself it draws attention away from my skin issues and it makes me feel better!

  • 51
    Miriam October 3, 2011, 10:13 pm

    I drink a gallon of water a day and find that that helps!

  • 52
    Christina October 3, 2011, 10:23 pm

    Same issues here! I just went to the dermatologist for the first time ever this summer because I was so over it. I got a prescription face cream, but it is really strong, so it kinda scares me to use it each day. I wish there were some better natural products out there that work because I hate putting all those chemicals on my face. I get so excited when actually I have a blemish free face and can go sans-makeup. My husband is always like, ‘just stop wearing makeup’…uh, yea right! It is a never ending circle. I don’t want to not wear makeup because my skin stinks, but it does seem to get a little better when I go a while not wearing any. I did switch moisturizers and start using Bear Minerals makeup, and it seemed to help a little, but still don’t have the the skin I wish I did. Frowny face.

  • 53
    Julie G October 4, 2011, 12:01 am

    I’m having the exact same issue!! It’s very frustrating and I have no idea what to do. I would love to try this to see if it works!

  • 54
    Lizz @ Leading the Good Life October 4, 2011, 12:14 am

    I would love to find something that works for me! I have a hard time shelling out the money if I’m not sure how my skin will react to a new product.

  • 55
    meg October 4, 2011, 12:32 am

    I would love to try this! Lately I’ve been experiencing redness and dryness that I never used to have.

  • 56
    Sara October 4, 2011, 1:11 am

    Just started grad school and my face has decided it is not liking the lack of sleep, stress and crappy diet. I decided that this is not something I want to stick around and I would love to try the Olay system! So glad it worked for you!

  • 57
    Alison October 4, 2011, 5:28 am

    I have the same skin issues as you and would love to give this a try!

  • 58
    Jess October 4, 2011, 6:05 am

    vitamin E oil works wonders for 3 weeks out of 4… but I would LOVE to try Olay to see if it helps with “that time of the month” acne!!!

  • 59
    Sarah October 4, 2011, 9:20 am

    Adult acne, ugh…I agree that it’s awful and totally hate it! Like others have mentioned it seemed to get worse when my training schedule-particularly with yoga(and laying on a mat all the time)as I worked on my teacher training. While I can’t say I’ve gotten it under wraps, I’ve found that applying a thin layer of Vaseline to my face, before bed and after washing and using a toner, has helped. I have dry skin so lots of acne products tend to dry me out and sometimes even make the issue worse by causing my skin to attempt to counteract the dryness and create more oil. I’ve found that the Vaseline calms down the redness and usually helps with the spots…but not always, so it’s not a cure all!

  • 60
    Margaret October 4, 2011, 9:26 am

    I used to tackle the self-confidence issue by hiding it, with makeup. But a lot of times, that only aggravated the acne and made the problem 10x worse. Now, I try to tell myself that nobody else notices it as much as I do. But it’d still be nice to tone the problem down some, if not eradicate it!

  • 61
    Kristina October 4, 2011, 9:42 am

    I’ve been wanting to try this line for awhile. I’ve tried Muran and Proactive and neither work for me!

  • 62
    Lacey October 4, 2011, 9:44 am

    Thank you so much for this review. I have been struggling with adult acne for the past 6 months due to an inbalance in my hormone levels. I didn’t have acne this bad when I was a teenager. Even if I don’t win the giveaway I’ll be buying this because everything else I have tried doesn’t seem to help either.

  • 63
    Katie October 4, 2011, 10:25 am

    Would love to give this a try! I have the same troubles!

  • 64
    Ashley H. October 4, 2011, 11:19 am

    My breakouts have gotten worse as I get older. My coworker has the same problem so at least we get to vent about it to each other and have someone that understands.

  • 65
    Emily October 4, 2011, 11:44 am

    My skin has been on the fritz ever since the weather has changed and it definitely affects my self-confidence. I would love to try this system!

  • 66
    Bess @ Bess Be Fit October 4, 2011, 11:51 am

    It’s funny you posted this because just a few days ago I was looking at my own skin in the mirror and wondering how your acne issue turned out bc I needed some help! How funny. I would love to try this, I’ve been doing the same skin care routine through all of college and I’m sure as I’ve gotten a little older (ripe age of 23) my skin’s needs have changed. This would be a good product for sure!

  • 67
    Bess @ Bess Be Fit October 4, 2011, 11:53 am

    I tweeted!

  • 68
    Sherry October 4, 2011, 12:39 pm

    This sounds so similar to what I’ve been dealing with. My skin use to be prett clear with a breakout here or there but for the past 3 months or so I have been battling severe breakouts. I think mine has a lot to do with stress as well. I’ve been seeing commericals for this product and have been wanting to try it out for myself. Thanks for the review!!!

  • 69
    Laura October 4, 2011, 1:06 pm

    I can totally relate! I had some pimples during my teenage years, but nothing even close to full blown acne. Now, since turning 26 earlier this year, my skin has exploded! It started out as little bumps all over my forehead and has since moved down to my cheeks and chin with several being the deeper, painful cystic type pimples. I know part of my issue has been that I have been changing up my hormonal birth control in recent months, but I know I need to get a better skin care regimen down, too. The Olay program sounds perfect since it is geared towards adult acne issues.

    On another note, you continue to inspire me with regards to fitness and healthy living. I just started a C25K program and am planning on building up my running to a 10K by next spring to run a race and raise money for cancer research. Congrats on your recent career change!

  • 70
    caryn October 4, 2011, 1:55 pm

    this is definitely something i’d like to try. thanks for your honest review!

  • 71
    Caitlin October 4, 2011, 5:01 pm

    I’m so happy you found something that seems to be working. I recently switched from benzoyl peroxide to salicylic acid, too, so I hope soon enough I’m seeing results as you are! I find when my skin is clear I’m a more confident version of myself–at 26, every girl wants confidence!

  • 72
    Raffi Darrow October 4, 2011, 7:49 pm

    I tackle the issue two ways. After covering a zit with a concealer that also contains salicylic acid so it heals while it conceals, I put on bright lipstick, so it draws attention away from other things, and I make sure to style my hair so that it looks great – and if I’m lucky, also covers the zit!

  • 73
    Raffi Darrow October 4, 2011, 7:54 pm
  • 74
    Amy October 5, 2011, 3:44 am

    I have had my issues with adult acne as well-so frustrating! I find that if I don’t pick my face (so difficult!) and actually get enough sleep, it helps. I try to minimize my concealer usage-if I’m not going out, I don’t put it on, to try and give my skin a break. I feel your pain!

  • 75
    Ash October 5, 2011, 9:15 am

    I tackle it with self confidence and with the knowing that it is what it is. Plus some good concealer doesn’t hurt either. 🙂

  • 76
    Greg Pope October 5, 2011, 12:29 pm

    Hi. I’m a 34-year-old dude, but I think I have something to offer here.

    I’ve had adult acne on my chin and cheeks for some time and it’s finally going away. I think the key for me was laying off the candy and processed sugar. That seems to give the bacteria less to work with and my face is clearer now.

  • 77
    kylee October 5, 2011, 6:10 pm

    I have the same problems due to so much exercise! I try to wash my face as soon as I am done sweating because I notice that if I don’t that that is when it gets really bad. Also, concealer is a lifesaver!:)

  • 78
    Mary October 6, 2011, 10:56 am

    I’m lucky and only have occasional breakouts. But, I still need some help from time to time!

  • 79
    annMarie October 6, 2011, 11:54 am

    I have recently just started breaking out more than usual. Like you this has not happened since high school. I have not been able to figure out why, but in reading one of the comments above it has me thinking. We have had one of the hottest summers in a very long time, and over the summer and presently I have been training for a marathon. I now believe that perhaps the more than usual sweating has contributed to these breakout. I probably need to find a complete system for cleaning and moisturizing my face like you have and see if that helps me.

  • 80
    JennyV October 6, 2011, 6:26 pm

    I feel fortunate to not need to use anything specific to wash my fave and not suffer from break-outs. The biggest thing for me is washing my face pretty soon after I’m done working out. I don’t tend to wear much make-up as is — I think the only time I’ve really used foundation was my wedding day and for prom!?

  • 81
    Tara October 6, 2011, 8:06 pm

    I have been lucky as an adult with skin trouble but I am all about trying to lighten dark spots on my face. THANKS!!

  • 82
    Kristen V October 8, 2011, 8:24 am

    It’s so frustrating having acne as an adult. It was the only thing that I worried about on my wedding day. Right now I’m deployed in the desert and the combination of sweat, sand, and sun have given me the worst skin I’ve ever experienced. It’s breaking out but also peeling so badly that I can’t do much to cover it up. I’d love to get your update in a few more weeks to see how your feeling about this product!

  • 83
    Susan Smith October 8, 2011, 11:53 pm

    I’ve noticed my skin is drier and I have fine lines and dark circles under my eyes that I would love to eliminate.

  • 84
    Susan Smith October 8, 2011, 11:53 pm
  • 85
    Cory October 10, 2011, 12:22 am

    I am about to enter the first year of my “late 20’s” and I’m really noticing changes in my skin. Changes I’m not liking. Everyone always tells me “Oh, your skin is so perfect” but, and I’m not over exagerating, what are they looking at?! I have this dream that my skin will be soft and bright – and free of unwanted, misplaced hair, no more wrinkles (and not having to pay for them to go away) – is that so hard? If you are using a product you love will you give me the name and what it’s doing for you? I’m venturing into desperation. I’ll be trying this product to say the least.

  • 86
    Jessie C. October 10, 2011, 9:56 pm

    I seldom have acne after 16 or so, but fine lines around eye areas bother me a lot.

  • 87
    Jessie C. October 10, 2011, 9:56 pm
  • 88
    Janice Cooper October 12, 2011, 8:32 pm

    Unfortunately I still tend to deal with adult acne. I try to cleanse my skin in the morning using another popular brand treatment (pro-active), but I would love to give Olay Professional Pro-X Clear Line a try.

  • 89
    Janice Cooper October 12, 2011, 8:32 pm
  • 90
    Anastasia October 17, 2011, 7:55 am

    My skin will break once every other month or so. That’s not often, but when it does decide to break out it doesn’t hold back and it can get pretty bad. I just put on some concealer (MAC works best for me) and remember that I’m probably focusing on it more than other people are. That usually helps me not to stress over it so much.

  • 91
    ashley October 17, 2011, 9:11 am

    Great review and giveaway! While I have never had any issues with acne, I do have other skin problems. Since birth, I’ve had really sensitive skin – mostly my face, scalp and chest areas. Most of my problems are with dry, flaky skin or a combination of dry and oily due to my PH levels becoming unbalanced and overcompensating. I love Olay products – both my mother and grandmother have used the “pink stuff” for years and I like to think both have aged well!

  • 92
    Tina M October 20, 2011, 5:16 am

    I don’t have adult acne, but I have a dry skin. I need moisturizer everyday

  • 93
    Tina M October 20, 2011, 5:19 am
  • 94
    Robin M. October 20, 2011, 1:55 pm

    I have more acne now at 42 than I had as a teenager… plus wrinkles!! I just pretend it makes me look younger!! I need to try this.

  • 95
    Stacy October 20, 2011, 2:20 pm

    After 2 pregnancies, my skin has gone from bad to great, back to horrible! I am trying to tell myself to give it time and products will work to clear up my skin along with a healthier diet and lots of water! It doesn’t help when family members comment “what happened to your face? Just try and keep it clean and hope it gets better….

  • 96
    nan October 22, 2011, 10:37 pm

    nannypanpan at gmail.com

  • 97
    sherri crawford October 23, 2011, 9:41 am

    i put a dab of concealer on it then try to ignore it

  • 98
    helga October 26, 2011, 11:32 am

    one word: wrinkles:-(

  • 99
    Kerry October 26, 2011, 10:02 pm

    I just grin and bear it when I get a zit – it’s usually once a month:(

  • 100
    Kerry October 26, 2011, 10:03 pm
  • 101
    shirley October 27, 2011, 9:01 pm

    I am lucky to only have 2-3 bad breakouts a year, I just try to cover them up as best I can.

  • 102
    shirley October 27, 2011, 9:03 pm


  • 103
    nanjhall October 28, 2011, 12:14 pm

    I have been fortunate that I have never had to deal with acne. But I am learning how to deal with the fine lines and dark circles under my eyes that have started appearing.

  • 104
    Sarah L October 29, 2011, 2:38 am

    As I’ve grown older (63) my wrinkles are beginning to look like my mother’s. I haven’t had acne since my teen years (thank goodness).

    Thanks for the contest.

  • 105
    Sarah L October 29, 2011, 2:39 am
  • 106
    karen M October 30, 2011, 10:23 am

    I keep a positive attitude when I have a breakout! It happens, I try not get stressed out, which makes it worse.

  • 107
    Debra F October 30, 2011, 12:05 pm

    I have pretty good skin, and even over 40 I don’t have too many wrinkles yet but I still get those annoying menstrual pimples every month and they really bother me.

  • 108
    angie November 1, 2011, 11:30 am

    I too have adult acne and have had it since puberty really. I don’t get a lot of zits at a time, but the ones I get are HUGE and purple and usually right in the middle of one of my cheeks or on my chin. Its so embarrassing but I just try not to let it bother me because there is nothing I can do about it. I just try to minimize it and not pick at it and make it worse.

  • 109
    angie November 1, 2011, 11:30 am
  • 110
    Haley November 1, 2011, 11:39 am

    Its something that I’ve learned to not take too seriously. When it gets bad I’ll try and treat it but acne comes and goes and I’ve learned that I just can’t get too worked up.

  • 111
    Maggie November 1, 2011, 11:48 am

    I only have an occasional breakout consisting of a whitehead or two (which I *do* tend to just get rid of using a warm washcloth…), but I try my best to take care of my skin as best as possible. I’ve been using an Oil of Olay cream cleanser since college and it really helped me get my skin under control!

  • 112
    Lee November 1, 2011, 4:35 pm

    luckily, I don’t have acne now.

  • 113
    Eugenie November 1, 2011, 4:40 pm

    for the few pimples a little concealer works for me.

  • 114
    ewhatley November 2, 2011, 6:56 pm

    I never had acne in my teens but did get it in my twenties. I did not deal with it very well. I just piled on the makeup and was embarassed all the time. Thank goodness it’s gone now.

  • 115
    ANGEL JACKLYN November 3, 2011, 3:23 pm

    I try not to think about it, how bad my skin is with the acne. And here these Olay posts only remind me on it. Otherwise, I “pretend” like it don’t bother me, but honestly, it seems like an impossible fight!

  • 116
    ANGEL JACKLYN November 3, 2011, 3:24 pm
  • 117
    Margot Plonk November 3, 2011, 4:43 pm

    Can’t wait to try these products- Love Olay anyway!

  • 118
    Lainey November 3, 2011, 4:54 pm

    I never really got acne as a teenager – until I was about to graduate highschool and again right around when I graduated college. I am clearly a stress induced acne getter. I think the pressure gets to me.

    I deal with acne by making sure I drink lots of water and try and not touch my face. Which always is a challenge for me at work especially after touching the computer – ew. However, I will say that I have never really been one to cover it up always fearing that it would make it worse. I have never understood how girls are able to wear makeup everyday especially to the gym. I just have these awful visions of sweating, and the makeup and dirt clogging more pores causing it to get worse. So I guess at least I am confident enough to rock the acne haha.

  • 119
    Lainey November 3, 2011, 4:55 pm


    I really need to figure out how to link to a specific link! Sorry but i did tweet about it.

  • 120
    Mari November 3, 2011, 7:54 pm

    My skin has gotten drier.I need to moisturize more often.
    Luckily, I do not have adult acne!
    runningmatey at hotmail dot com

  • 121
    tonya November 19, 2011, 1:28 pm

    I usually buy all my olay products from bestdealanywhere.ecrater,com because they have low prices and free shipping. They didn’t have this particular item available so I got it else where and it works miracles.

  • 122
    Emily @ I'd Rather Walk June 22, 2012, 12:02 pm

    You are beautiful!

Leave a Comment